Meal Planning Monday #4 (5 March)

5 Mar

Last week I didn’t bother doing a meal plan as Dave was away, and my plan was to just cook up a big pot of chilli or ragu and eat that all week.  Which worked out quite well, as it turns out, but it did get a little boring!

This week is a little bit more exciting for my tastebuds.

M: Bora-bora fireballs (spicy pork meatballs covered in shredded coconut), sunshine sauce (almond butter satay sauce), cauliflower rice.  Recipes from Well Fed by The Clothes Make The Girl
T: Leftover fireballs for me as Dave is out to dinner
W: Chicken katsu curry, cauliflower rice
T: Sausages, cauliflower mash, braised red cabbage
F: Chocolate chilli, sweet potato fries, maybe some guacamole?
S: Aloo gobi with chicken
S: Swedish meatballs, mustard gravy and swede/cauliflower mash

I am also contemplating making a paleo (or primal) key lime pie.  I am in the mood for dessert… However, this would require going back to the supermarket and I’d rather not!!

What are you eating this week?  Head over to Mrs M’s for inspiration.

6 Responses to “Meal Planning Monday #4 (5 March)”

  1. Pat March 5, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    Ang,

    I can’t find that Bora-Bora Fireball recipe anywhere on the web. Do you have it available to share?

    Your meal planning looks way less boring than mine. I tend to eat the same thing all week but maybe that’s where I’ve gone wrong lately. Had some failures since December but I’ve got plans to fix all of it and get back on track. That recipe sounds like a winner!

    • Ang March 5, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      Here you go, Pat: http://marleenhensley.blogspot.com/2012/01/whole30-day-23-bora-bora-fireballs.html You need to add 1tsp of cayenne to the pork (in the ingredients but forgotten in the method).

      I go through phases of eating a really varied diet and then hit a week or two when I just don’t want to cook. I’m trying to keep the freezer stashed with easy things (like the chocolate chilli) that I can just heat up and still be healthy.

  2. Emma @ Mummy Musings March 5, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Ooh those fireballs sound good! My husband would definitely like to try those 🙂

    • Ang March 7, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      Give them a go! Link to the recipe in the comments 🙂 I’d add more cayenne next time as they weren’t as hot as I’d like, but OMG… they were awesome.

      I’ll admit that they were a bit more faff than my usual meatballs, but worth it.

  3. Lauren - Big Eejit March 6, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    The Bora Bora fireballs sound immense! I love spicy/sweet combos. Great meal plan!

    • Ang March 7, 2012 at 10:39 am #

      They were fantastic! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

